The Little Drummer Boy

image

     I love Christmas time and all the beauty that goes with it. The trees, the holly, the lights, the Christmas carols. But one particular Carol I have noticed goes a bit under the radar I think. You’ve probably already read the title of this entry so you probably also already know that I’m talking about “the little drummer boy.” It’s a very catchy song with all the “pa-rum-pum-pum-pum”s and all, but that’s what causes the message to get lost a bit in the shuffle.

     Let’s look at the song with out all those little hooks. Basically, I just copied and pasted the lyrics and deleted the lines that said “pa-rum-pum-pum-pum,” which clarifies the message dramatically.

“Come they told me
A new born King to see
Our finest gifts we bring
To lay before the king
So to honor Him
When we come
Little baby
I am a poor boy too
I have no gift to bring
That’s fit to give our King
Shall I play for you
On my drum
Mary nodded
The ox and lamb kept time
I played my drum for Him
I played my best for Him
Then He smiled at me
Me and my drum”

Oh my goodness! This is a picture of God’s divine love for us through the birth of His Son. We have nothing to offer God but ourselves and He desires nothing less, and nothing more. Our talents are to be used to shout His praises; our time is to be spent serving Him; our love is meant for Him; our bodies should display His grace. He wants you and nothing else. After all He did purchase us with His blood.

Merry Christmas and God bless you all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Religion, Truth

Leave a Reply

